Photos (1) View All

VFW Post 8884 & Auxiliary presented Vinton-Shellsburg High Students with their Voice of Democracy Essay Awards on Monday at the High School.
The top 4 winners included a three-way tie for 2nd place.

The 2nd Place Winners are:

Molly Haisman and Katelyn Humiston, from Vinton Shellsburg High School. The 3rd-second place winning student is Cierra Michael from Independence High School.

The local 1st place winner is Kaelyn Pettyjohn from Vinton Shellsburg High School.

These four students are also eligible to try next year for the $30,000 Scholarship because they are all underclassmen.

The 2019-2020 theme was “Is This The Country Our Founding Fathers Envisioned?”

If any student wants information on The Voice of Democracy Scholarship please contact Dale Henry VFW Post 8884 Commander at (319-693-9215)

Submit a Comment

Please refresh the page to leave Comment.

Still seeing this message? Presh Ctrl + F5 to do a "Hard Refresh".

Comments (0)

To receive each day's headlines to your inbox sign up for our email updates.