January 29, 2019

The Benton County Board of Supervisors met in regular adjourned session with Supervisors Primmer, Bierschenk and Seeman present. Primmer called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Unless otherwise noted, all actions were approved unanimously.

Seeman moved/Bierschenk seconded: To approve the minutes of January 22, 2019. Motion carried.

Seeman moved/Bierschenk seconded: To appoint Allison Hicks to the Benton County Historical Preservation Commission. Motion carried.

Bierschenk moved/Seeman seconded: To re-appoint, Denise Schwab, Nancy Jensen, Bryce Brecht and Jennifer Zahradnik to the Solid Waste Commission. Motion carried.

Seeman moved/Bierschenk seconded: To approve and sign the Cyber and Technology Liability Insurance Renewal. Motion carried.

Continued discussion regarding the clarification to the previous matter on the credit card policy (6.9) in the county handbook was had. Per conversation with the bank the county will need to specify what departments will be issued cards and what the credit limit will be. There still needs to be rules and regulations in place with allowed use of said cards. Who would be responsible for interest charges and late fees in the future? Primmer felt that department heads should be responsible and make sure everything gets turned in on a timely matter. Regarding last week’s discussion about the finance charges and late fees that occurred, the bank waived them as a one-time courtesy. Sheriff Tippett does not want to seek reimbursement for his portions of previous finance charges paid. He personally agreed that the department heads were responsible since they code the bills in their offices. Deputy Auditor Gina Edler, asked for an amendment to the current policy or better clarification so she can treat everyone the same regarding the future incoming bills pertaining to credit card usage. The board asked her to get other county’s examples of credit card policies and they can re-visit this next week.

Seeman moved/Bierschenk seconded: To set the public hearing date of Tuesday March 6, 2018 at 9:30 a.m. for FY20 Budget and FY19 Budget Amendment. Motion carried.

Abby Michael, Amanda Threadgold and Danielle Clark with the Riverview Center were present this morning for their budget request of $5,000. This is to ensure survivors of sexual assault in Benton County are aware of the free and confidential advocacy and therapy services available to them. Others present advocating on their behalf were: Eric Dickerson and Josh West, Vinton Police Department and Benton County Sheriff Ron Tippett. Riverview Center provides a lot of the sexual abuse training for our local law enforcement and schools. Although it is still in the infant stage, Officer Dickerson stated that the Riverview Center in regards to the “SAR” Team is a true multi-agency effort. Sheriff Tippett agreed, they are a growing asset to Benton County. Most funding for the center comes from state grants, donations and a little federal funding.

Supervisor Chairman asked for comments from his fellow supervisors to further their discussion regarding the FY 20 Compensation’s Boards recommendations .The Compensation Board recommended a 3% for the Auditor, Recorder, Treasurer and Supervisors and 4% for the County Attorney and Sheriff. If the board reduces, they have to do it equally across all elected officials, but can single out the supervisors. Compensation Board Chairman, John Yundt, was also present for the discussion. Yundt explained how the compensation board agreed on the figures. The 4% was used to catch up the sheriff and attorney to equalize them with other department heads in other similar sized counties. This has been done in years past also. The 3% figure was based on the consumer price index increase of approximately 2.5, and to basically keep up with inflation. Seeman asked how the recommendations affects the salaries of others in the offices. It was explained that it affects the pay of some deputies whose salaries are based on a percentage of their respective elected official.

Seeman moved/Bierschenk seconded: To approve Resolution #19-8, FY20 Elected Officials Salaries. Motion carried.



WHEREAS, the Benton County Compensation Board met on January 9, 2019, and recommended increases in the salaries of the elected officials pursuant to Iowa Code Sections 331.905 and 331.907; and

WHEREAS, said recommended increases are as follows:

Official FY 2019 (current) FY 2020 (recommendation Increase

Auditor $74,310.93 $76,540.26 3%

Treasurer $70,276.58 $72,384.88 3%

Recorder $70,276.58 $72,384.88 3%

Attorney $105,065.84 $109,268.47 4%

Sheriff $87,223.42 $90,712.36 4%

Supervisor $40,170.29 $41,375.40 3%

(Chairman) $41,179.29 $42,375.40 $1,000 stipend

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Benton County Board of Supervisors adopts the salary recommendations for elected officials for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2019, as recommended by the Benton County Compensation Board.

Dated this 29th day of January, 2019.


Rick Primmer, Chairman


Gary Bierschenk


Tracy Seeman



Hayley Rippel, Benton County Auditor

Moving on to a more lengthy discussion regarding the wages and salaries of county employees not covered by a bargaining unit or deputies of elected officials. Department heads who were present were given the opportunity to speak up on behalf of their employees or other department heads and justify why they are deserving of the average 3% increase that has been granted the past two years. All the individual departments has had their agenda time for discussion when they presented their budget to the board members.

Seeman moved/Bierschenk seconded: To grant a 3% across-the-board increase to all employees who are not covered by a bargaining agreement or who aren’t deputies of elected officials and according to what the departments heads turned in and to make it work with the exception for the following employees who will receive the discussed additional amounts:

Secondary Roads-Ben Vierling -70% of Engineer’s salary, Alisha Burmeister 3% plus additional $1,500, Ben Bonar 3% plus an additional $1,500.

IT/GIS-Ben Turnis- 6% with $2,000 to come out of Elections

County Attorney’s office all get 4% with $27,000 to be paid out of the Collections fund

Recorder’s office-Katelyn Welper-$16.50/hour

Sheriff’s office-Karen Uthoff -4%

Treasurer’s Office- League Clerk -$40,000, 2nd clerk-$32,000 and permanent part-time-$16.00/hour

Maintenance Department-4%

Land Use-4%

Motion carried.

Most of the Committee meetings were cancelled for the week due to the weather. The Board did not feel they would close the courthouse. But it was the employees choice to use vacation or comp time if they did not want to report to work.

Seeman moved/Bierschenk seconded: To adjourn. Motion carried.


Rick Primmer, Chairman

ATTEST: _________________________________

Hayley Rippel, Benton County Auditor

Submit a Comment

Please refresh the page to leave Comment.

Still seeing this message? Presh Ctrl + F5 to do a "Hard Refresh".

Comments (0)

To receive each day's headlines to your inbox sign up for our email updates.