ACT I’s production of Meredith Willson’s The Music Man opens this Saturday afternoon in the Vinton-Shellsburg High School Auditorium. The six performances of this classic small-town Iowa musical is presented in honor of the Vinton Sesquicentennial.

The Music Man is set in 1912 in River City, Iowa, a town based on Mason City. Mason City was the birthplace of the show’s author and composer, Meredith Willson. It concerns a con man, Professor Harold Hill, who arrives in town intending to bilk the townspeople into buying band instruments and band uniforms with the promise of a boys’ band.

Playing the title character is Chris Overturf. Katie Hancock Stuelke plays the role of Marian the Librarian. Greg Walston and Cathi Calderwood play the comic roles of Mayor Shinn and his wife.

Performance Dates

The production opens Saturday afternoon, August 10, at 2:00 pm and runs again at 7:00 that night and again at 2:00 Sunday afternoon. The show repeats the following weekend during the Sesquicentennial celebration, playing at 7:00 Saturday night, August 17, and again on Sunday, August 18 at 2:00 and 6:00.

Tickets are twelve dollars and two dollars for students and are available at the door. There will be no reserved seats.

The ACT I production is produced by Monica Funk, directed by Steve Arnold, with Choreography by Joan Cooling, Musical Direction is by Michala Martin and the pit band is conducted by Judy Trygstad.

The Music Man was written and composed by Meredith Willson, the famous Iowa bandleader, composer, radio personality, and author. The show opened on Broadway in 1957 starring Robert Preston and Barbara Cook. The film version opened in 1962 starring Preston and Shirley Jones. The Music Man is produced by special arrangement with Music Theatre International.

Music Man Cast

Traveling Salesmen: Noah Porter, Mitch Mensen, Tucker Mensen, Dave Gates, Nathan Groom

Newspaper Readers: Jaden Patterson, Avery Andrews, Alex Funk

Train Conductor: Dave Neas

Charlie Cowell: Corey Pierce

Harold Hill: Chris Overturf

Mayor Shinn: Greg Walston

The Quartet:

Ewart Dunlop: Ian Stuelke

Oliver Hix: Nathan Groom

Jacey Squires: Casey Funk

Olin Britt: Jeremiah Brown

Marcellus Washburn: Matt Walston

Tommy Djilas: Joe Dufoe

Marian Paroo: Katie Stuelke

Mrs. Paroo: Patti Gilbaugh

Amaryllis: Mya Randall

Winthrop Paroo: Levi Mensen

Eulalie Mackecknie Shinn: Cathi Calderwood

Zaneeta Shinn: Kara Perry

Gracie Shinn: Kandice Dircks

Alma Hix: Brynn Johnson

Maud Dunlop: Newelle Dalton

Ethel Toffelmeir: Holly Overturf

Mrs. Squires: Macey Overturf

Constable Locke: Mark Johnson

Farmer: Mark Johnson

Farmer’s Wife: Monique Smith

Pick-a-Little Ladies: Deb Cline, Jane Dufoe, Sue Gates, Alyssa Groom, Kendra Mensen, Monique Smith, Charlee Steinke, Shane Wunder

Featured Dancers: Newelle Dalton, Ellie Groom, Haylee Karr, Elisabeth Kuhn, Tucker Mensen, Raeganne Neilson, Kara Perry, Owen Sexton, Elise Smith, Madalyn Staggs, Charlee Steinke, Lexi Van Ree

Ensemble: Megan O’Meara, Brady Conway, Sam Opfer, Sofia Delacruz, Kassidy Otto, Jon Dufoe, Emily Overturf, Bryleigh Farmer, Ava Randall, Ellie Groom, Henry Groom, Hudsen Rule, Darin Humiston, Owen Sexton, Katelyn Humiston, Elise Smith, Abigail James, Blake Soquet, Blaze Soquet, Haylee Karr, Kennedy Kisling, Madalyn Staggs, Zoey Kriner, Elisabeth Kuhn, Alexis Van Ree, Christian Liedtke, Sylvia Vaupel, Bryce Walker, Lily Miller, Gracie Whelan, Lola Miller, Alivia Wilkins, Ashlyn Wilkins, Raeganne Neilson

Music Man Crew

Director: Steve Arnold

Producer, Assistant Director, Stage Manager: Monica Funk

Music Director: Michala Martin

Choreographer: Joan Cooling

Pit Band Director: Judy Trygstad

Set Construction: Ian Stuelke, John Stuelke, Blake Hanson, Doug Martens, Mitch Mensen

Set Painting: Jeff Funk, Kellie van Ree, Kristeen Opfer, Heidi Whelan

Detail Painting: Samantha Mancinas, Leisa Stuelke, Joan Cooling, Charley Cooling, Katie Stuelke, Colin Schlotfeldt, Taylor Vislisel, Sherry Stout, Colleen Randall

Costume Mistress: Kelsey Franck

Costume Assistants: Leisa Stuelke, Shane Wunder, Amy Grundmeyer

Properties: Sara Wilkins

Stage Crew: Mitch Mensen, Corey Pierce

Lighting Design: Eric Upmeyer

Lighting Operator: Everett Henderson

Sound Operator: Jason Liedtke

Assistant Stage Manager: Macey Overturf

Photographer: Tammy Karr

The Musicians

Laura McClure-Fleck – Flute

Barb Glime – Clarinet

Jody Bierschenk – Tenor Sax, Clarinet

Connie McDonald – Saxophone

John Fuoto – Trumpet

George Carr – Trumpet

Shelby Channel – Trombone

Kaitlyn McVay – Bass

Charley Cooling (first week) / Emma Metcalf (second week) – Percussion

Lori Ferguson – Piano

Judy Trygstad - Director

Submit a Comment

Please refresh the page to leave Comment.

Still seeing this message? Presh Ctrl + F5 to do a "Hard Refresh".

Comments (0)

To receive each day's headlines to your inbox sign up for our email updates.